Artist’s Beef Stew


In my 13 years stay in Karachi, I’ve met people from all walks of life. I can’t deny the fact that some ladies influenced my way of cooking. During our stay in Riyadh, a wife of the Late King Faisal’s doctor introduced me some traditional Indian cuisines. The cornerstone of my culinary world was built by my mom, in-laws, relatives, and close family friends.

To name a few, a wife of BBC executive taught me how to make a simple and luscious fruit dessert, fruit chaat (salad) using fresh seasonal fruits in Pakistan. I learned how to make a delectable keema (ground beef) from a senator’s wife. Top of all, I love the non-fancy healthy meals which I learned from our school helper.

A known Pakistani artist (my husband’s aunt) invited us for lunch in 1997. His son, Azfar Ali, appeared in Angelina Jolie’s movie, “A Mighty Heart”. Aunt Nahid Raza served us a mouth-watering beef stew.

I cook beef stew once in a while.

 

Beef Stew (1).jpg

INGREDIENTS:

1/4 cup cooking oil

2 medium onions, chopped

1/2 kilogram beef

1 tablespoon ginger & garlic paste

1 tablespoon salt

1 teaspoon chili powder

(1 inch garlic & 5 cloves garlic crushed to make paste)

5 cloves, 5 small cinnamon sticks, 5 green cardamoms

1 teaspoon cumin seeds

2 medium onions, chopped

2 medium tomatoes, sliced

5 green chillies, optional

3 cups water

chopped coriander leaves for garnishing

 

DIRECTIONS:

1.  Saute’ onions in hot oil until golden brown.
2.  Add meat with ginger & garlic paste.  Stir fry.
3.  Season with salt & chili powder.
4.  Add the whole spices.
5.  Mix onions, tomatoes & green chillies.
6.  Stir in 3 cups of water.
7.  Simmer for an hour or until well-cooked in low heat.
8.  Garnish with chopped coriander leaves.
You can watch my cooking videos on this link: 

 

 

  

Leave a comment