LOLITA VILLACORTA QUESADA: An Inspiration


 

940876_10200555205876937_1263350618_n

 

I’m writing this blog in honor of my beloved Auntie Lily who passed away last January 2013 after a battle with cancer in New York.

 Losing your loved one is one of the hardest things in life. It’s incredibly devastating. There are some people who have influenced my life but my aunt is the person who influenced me the most. She had been an important person in my life since birth. My aunt helped many people including my family in rough times especially in education. She was a wonderful aunt and achieved so much in life.

Auntie Lily graduated Magna Cum Laude at the University of the East with the degree of Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA) and a Certified Public Accountant (CPA). She worked for William Golangco Construction Corporation (WGCC) while studying college at night. In 1979, she immigrated in the US and worked for the United Nations Development Programme and retired in 1996.

 486104_366410653457735_797870390_n

 

She lost her mother (my maternal grandmother) at a young age. Then the huge fire in Binondo, Manila turned their house into ashes. She surpassed all the trials and barriers for success and created a life she desired by working in the day and studying at night. Auntie Lily lived with faith, confidence and perseverance. Her husband, Engr. Romulo Quesada, and 3 sons, Renwick, John Radford and Russwyn, served as her driving forces. She struggled to achieve parity between her job and personal life.

One thing I greatly admire about her, she lived a meaningful life. She taught us that poverty is not a hindrance to success and education can change your life. Being a devout Christian, she spread love and helped countless of people. I came to realize how she changed my life along with the lives she had touched. Hope I could influence someone as much as my aunt influenced me and other people. By being my role model, she helped me to become a person I wanted to be and make a difference. Auntie Lily was the person I looked up with great pride. Her loss is felt by many. She lived a great life and she will always be remembered for that! Let her legacy be passed on…

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by evangeline c. rubio on May 13, 2013 at 10:04 am

    a role model of perseverance and love for education…, that poverty should serve as a ladder and inspiration for one’s success in life…

    Reply

  2. Thanks for the comment!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

